Latte - Symbol of Chamorro Culture
Today, the enduring latte are found in coastal areas and in river valleys. The latte are the prominant remants of the earlier Chamorro culture of the Mariana Islands.
Each latte is comprised of two stones. The shaft stone placed on the ground is the haligi, and the cap stone is the tasa. The latte were placed in parallel rows, consisting of three to seven latte per row. Latte vary in height from less than one meter to six meters, which are at the House of Taga on Tinian.
The latte were constructed by the Chamorros, from 1100 to 1700 A.D. Principally, found on the islands of Guam, Rota, Tinian, and Saipan, latte were used as the foundations of important structures in Chamorro villages. Their use in the Chamorro culture vanished when the Spanish devasted the islands in the 1600s.
These latte, relocated in 1956, are from the former village of Mepo in the Fena Valley of the current Ordinance Annex, U.S. Haval Activities, Guam. The village site was destroyed by military construction after World War II.